Meet staff from ACU’s National School of Education. Browse academic leaders by campus, read profiles of notable staff, or search all School staff members via our directory.

Meet our head of school

Professor Shukri Sanber, National Head of School of Education (Acting)

Professor Sanber is an experienced academic with a specialisation in measurement and research methodology. His initial training was in geography, where he taught for ten years as a secondary school teacher and later on as a curriculum specialist in geography. Upon completing his doctorate from Cornell University, he started lecturing at Bethlehem University. 

Read Professor Sanber’s profile

Notable staff

Professor Jim Bright, Professorial Fellow (Career Education and Development)

Professor Bright is an organisational psychologist, Professorial Fellow in Career Education and Development at ACU, Visiting Professor of Career Development at the University of Derby, UK and a director of Become.  Through Bright and Associates, he offers career coaching, medico-legal assessment, speaking and training. He is a media commentator, keynote speaker and widely published author.

Read Professor Bright’s profile

Dr Josephine Ryan, Deputy Head of School of Education (Victoria)

Dr Ryan’s interests in education developed from experience as a secondary English teacher in Australia and USA, and doctoral work on gender, class and English teaching. Since working in higher education in Australia, Dr Ryan, has taught English and literacy to pre-service and in-service teachers. She has also published in this field.

Read Dr Ryan’s profile

Staff by campus

Browse our list of academic leaders at the National School of Education. 

For all other School lecturers, researchers and sessional staff, search or filter using our ACU staff directory.

Access staff directory

Ballarat Campus

Associate Professor Gloria Stillman – Associate Professor (Maths Education)

Brisbane Campus

Professor Romina Jamieson-Proctor – State Head of Education QLD

Professor Bruce Burnett

Professor Peta Goldburg – Professor (Religious Education)

Professor Huann-shyang Lin

Associate Professor Denis McLaughlin – Associate Professor (and Reader) of Education

Canberra Campus

Associate Professor Carolyn Broadbent

Associate Professor Catherine McLoughlin – Associate Professor (Education)

Melbourne Campus

Matthew Zbaracki – State Head of Education VIC

Johann Le Roux – Director of Education CEM cohorts

Matthew Sexton – Director Mathematics Teaching and Learning Research Centre

Professor John Munro

Associate Professor Philip Riley – Associate Professor

Associate Professor Joseph Zajda – Associate Professor (Education Foundations)

Associate Professor Kenneth Smith – Associate Professor (Education)

Associate Professor Michael Buchanan – Associate Professor (Religious Education)

North Sydney Campus

Professor James Bright – Professorial Fellow (Career Education and Development)

Associate Professor Charles Burford

Associate Professor Janette Long

Strathfield Campus

Miriam Tanti – State Head of Education NSW/ACT

Wilhelmina Van Rooy – Professor (Curriculum and Teaching)

Robyn Cox – Associate Professor (Literacy Education/English Curriculum)


Looking for a specific staff member? Find them in our staff directory

Search now

Have a question?


We're available 9am–5pm AEDT,
Monday to Friday

Live chat with us now

Chat to our team for real-time
answers to your questions.

Launch live chat
Visit our FAQs page

Find answers to some commonly
asked questions.

See our FAQs